cyber daily logo

Breaking news and updates daily. Subscribe to our Newsletter

Breaking news and updates daily. Subscribe to our Newsletter X facebook linkedin Instagram Instagram

Albanese unveils Minister for Cyber Security

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese has unveiled his new ministry, introducing a new portfolio to oversee cyber security.

user iconReporter
Tue, 31 May 2022
Albanese unveils Minister for Cyber Security
expand image

Clare O'Neil has been announced as minister for home affairs and minister for cyber security during a press conference by Prime Minister Albanese this evening.

Minister O'Neil succeeds former Minister Karen Andrews, who also supported the implementation of much of the previous government's cyber security policy as home affairs minister.

The former government did not have a separate minister for cyber security, with Prime Minister Albanese also confirming that Minister O'Neil will now join him in cabinet.


Meanwhile, Deputy Prime Minister Richard Marles has been named as the new minister for defence, succeeding Peter Dutton in the portfolio.

Minister Marles had served as shadow minister for defence for a stint in opposition but was replaced prior to the election by Brendan O’Connor after being elevated to deputy leader of the Labor Party.

Brendan O'Connor has left the defence portfolio, and will assume the role as the minister for skills as training.

Other key ministerial appointments across the defence and national security portfolios include:

  • Pat Conroy will serve as the minister for defence industry and the minister for international development and the Pacific;
  • Matt Keogh, who served as shadow minister for defence industry, has been named as the minister for veterans’ affairs and the minister for defence personnel;
  • Ed Husic will be the minister for industry and science; and
  • Matt Thistlethwaite will be the assistant minister for defence and the assistant minister for veterans’ affairs.

These are in addition to the senior ministerial appointments announced shortly after the federal election, with Penny Wong named as foreign minister, Jim Chalmers as treasurer, and Katy Gallagher as finance minister.

The announcement of the Albanese government's ministry comes just a day after Peter Dutton was elected unopposed as leader of the federal Liberal Party alongside deputy leader Sussan Ley.

The Nationals have also named a new leader, electing David Littleproud to replace Barnaby Joyce.

Senator for NSW Perin Davey will serve as the deputy leader of the Nationals.

[Related: FEDERAL BUDGET: Industry reacts to $9.9bn REDSPICE project]

cyber daily subscribe
Be the first to hear the latest developments in the cyber industry.